Examplepictures of DNA-Structures


Regulation of alpha-ketoglutarate dependent dioxygenase TET3 – Novel insights into epigenetic mechanisms in neurons

CRTD Seminar

Date:30.11.2018, 15:00 - 16:00
Speaker: Dr. Stylianos Michalakis Center for Integrated Protein Science Munich CiPSM at the Department of Pharmacy - Center for Drug Research, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Munich, Germany
Location: CRTD, ground floor, auditorium left
Host: Dr. Volker Busskamp

Neural activity is associated at the epigenetic level with dynamic cytosine methylation and demethylation processes. Demethylation requires enzymatic oxidation of 5 methylcytosine (5mC) to 5 hydroxymethylcytosine (5hmC) and further on to 5-formyl- and 5-carboxycytoside (5fC, 5caC) followed by removal of 5fC and 5caC by base excision repair. The enzymes responsible for these oxidation steps are the alpha-ketoglutarate dependent dioxygenases TET1-3, of which TET3 is the most abundant isoform in neurons. In this presentation, I will show novel data on the functional regulation of TET3 and discuss their relevance for neuronal function.

5 most recent papers

M. Wagner, J. Steinbacher, T. F. Kraus, S. Michalakis, B. Hackner, T. Pfaffeneder, A. Perera, M. Müller, A. Giese, H. A. Kretzschmar, T. Carell, Angew Chem Int Ed 2015, 54, 12511-12514.

A. Perera, D. Eisen, M. Wagner, S. K. Laube, A. F. Künzel, S. Koch, J. Steinbacher, E. Schulze, V. Splith, N. Mittermeier, M. Müller, M. Biel, T. Carell, S. Michalakis, Cell Rep 2015, 11, 283-294.

T. Pfaffeneder, F. Spada, M. Wagner, C. Brandmayr, S. K. Laube, D. Eisen, M. Truss, J. Steinbacher, B. Hackner, O. Kotljarova, D. Schuermann, S. Michalakis, O. Kosmatchev, S. Schiesser, B. Steigenberger, N. Raddaoui, G. Kashiwazaki, U. Müller, C. G. Spruijt, M. Vermeulen, H. Leonhardt, P. Schar, M. Müller, T. Carell, Nat Chem Biol 2014, 10, 574-581

S. Koch, V. Sothilingam, M. Garcia Garrido, N. Tanimoto, E. Becirovic, F. Koch, C. Seide, S. C. Beck, M. W. Seeliger, M. Biel, R. Mühlfriedel, S. Michalakis, Hum Mol Genet 2012, 21, 4486-4496.

S. Michalakis, R. Mühlfriedel, N. Tanimoto, V. Krishnamoorthy, S. Koch, M. D. Fischer, E. Becirovic, L. Bai, G. Huber, S. C. Beck, E. Fahl, H. Büning, F. Paquet-Durand, X. Zong, T. Gollisch, M. Biel, M. W. Seeliger, Mol Ther 2010, 18, 2057-2063

To the top of this page.